Skip to main content

Blank Label Comics launches

Blank Label Comics proudly announces a new approach to self-publishing for cartoonists. Blank Label is a cooperative group of cartoonists who are helping one another succeed as independents.

These six cartoonists, previously hosted at Keenspot, are banding together for cross-promotion and advertising. Each is using his proficiency in a particular aspect of the cartooning business to help the others -- who are doing the same in return.

For the full press release, go to Blank Label Comics

Six cartoonists form Blank Label Comics: Brad Guigar of Greystone Inn and Courting Disaster, Paul Southworth of Krazy Larry and Ugly Hill, Kristofer Straub of Checkerboard Nightmare and Starshift Crisis, Paul Taylor of Wapsi Square, Steve Troop of Melonpool, and David Willis of Shortpacked! and It's Walky.

Blank Label will not compete with online syndicates such as Modern Tales and Keenspot. It is a small group of cartoonists with similar goals, using individual strengths to help one another reach those goals.

The Blank Label Web site, found at http://www.blanklabelcomics.com, will feature news and information about the members' comics as well as special comics created for the site and special features for other independent cartoonists.

Blank Label Comics was formed on the principle that cartoonists can succeed best when they are in complete control of the business aspects of their creations. Since most cartoonists lack expertise in at least one of those aspects, they can gain expertise in their weak points in return for sharing their strong points.

The URLs for the Blank Label members are:
Checkerboard Nightmare: http://www.checkerboardnightmare.com
Courting Disaster: http://www.courting-disaster.com
Greystone Inn: http://www.greystoneinn.net
It's Walky: http://www.itswalky.com/
Krazy Larry: http://www.krazylarry.com/
Melonpool: http://www.melonpool.com/
Shortpacked!: http://www.shortpacked.com/
Starshift Crisis: http://www.starshiftcrisis.com
Ugly Hill: http://www.uglyhill.com/
Wapsi Square: http://www.wapsisquare.com/