Skip to main content

Measuring the Webcomic Audience Version 0.3

Time once again for another edition of Measuring the Webcomic Audience. Last month we explored some of the tools and methods developed by the blogging community, in particular the use of links between sites to rank blogs.

For this month's edition of our measurement project we again rely on information from Ranking.com and Alexa.com. We calculated a score for each webcomic based on their rankings for unique visitors, page views, and new for this month, links. For example, Penny Arcade ranked first for unique visitors, page views and for the number of sites linking into the Penny Arcade website.

As always, this project is in beta so please provide feedback on any aspect of our efforts. We have also continued to add webcomics to our watchlist. As before, this list only ranks those webcomics actually on our watchlist. To the extent that we are missing a webcomic on our watchlist that potentially would place on our most-read list, we rely on you, the readers, to bring it (them) to our attention.

For this list's edition only one comic slid off the rankings: Get Your War On, but in part because we expanded the rankings to 20 slots, a number of new comics make their first appearance on the list including, Diesel Sweeties, Little Gamers, White Ninja Comics and Broken Saints

List 0.3

Rank Name URL Last List Time on Chart
1 Penny Arcade penny-arcade.com 1 3
2 Mega Tokyo megatokyo.com 2 3
3 Sinfest sinfest.net 6 3
4 Sluggy Freelance sluggy.com 7 3
5 8 Bit Theatre nuklearpower.com 4 3
6 Mac Hall machall.com 11 3
7 RPG World rpgworldcomic.com 12 3
8 Exploding Dog explodingdog.com 5 3
9 Real Life reallifecomics.com 8 3
10 Mall Monkeys mallmonkeys.com 10 2
11 User Friendly userfriendly.org 9 3
12 Player VS Player pvponline.com 3 3
13 Bob and George bobandgeorge.com - 2*
14 Errant Story errantstory.com 15 2
15 Avalon High avalonhigh.com 13 2
16 Diesel Sweeties dieselsweeties.com - 1
17 Little Gamers little-gamers.com - 1
18 Movie Comics movie-comics.com - 2*
19 White Ninja Comics whiteninjacomics.com - 1
20 Angst Technology inktank.com - 2*
20 Broken Saints brokensaints.com - 1

* Non-consectutive appearances.

Watch List

absurdnotions.org
acidrefluxcomic.com
adventurers-comic.com
alicecomics.com
aliendice.com
americanelf.com
angels2200.com
antiheroforhire.com
ashfieldonline.com
avalonhigh.com
awesomegamerz.com
bobandgeorge.com
boxjamsdoodle.com
briworld.com
brokensaints.com
brunostrip.com
brunothebandit.com
butternutsquash.net
choppingblock.org
clanofthecats.com
crfh.net
crtlaltdel-online.com
cutewendy.com
dieselsweeties.com
electriksushi.com
elflife.com
elgoonishshive.com
errantstory.com
everythingjake.com
explodingdog.com
faans.com
funnyfarmcomics.com
gamingguardians.com
geeksalad.net
genecatlow.com
goats.com
gpf-comics.com
greystoneinn.net
hookedoncomics.com
houndshome.com
inktank.com
inniesandouties.com
itswalky.com
justanothervice.com
kevinandkell.com
kidradd.com
killroyandtina.com
little-gamers.com
lizardcomics.com
lookwhatibroughthome.com
lostandfoundcomic.com
machall.com
mallmonkeys.com
man-man.org
megatokyo.com
melonpool.com
meninhats.com
mnftiu.cc
movie-comics.com
mrbang.net
narbonic.com
newshounds.com
nightlightpress.com
pnes.com
nuklearpower.com
orneryboy.com
owliecomics.com
ozyandmillie.org
penny-arcade.com
purplepussy.net
pvponline.com
queenofwands.net
reallifecomics.com
roadwaffles.com
robotstories.com
rpgworldcomic.com
samandfuzzy.com
scarygoround.com
schlockmercenary.com
sexylosers.com
sinfest.net
sluggy.com
snafu-comics.com
soaprope.com
supercomics.com
superosity.com
surburbanjungle.com
tasteslikegravel.com
theaterhopper.com
tmcm.com
truenuff.com
ubersoft.net
unlikeminerva.com
userfriendly.org
wanderingones.com
whiteninjacomics.com
wigu.com
youdamnkid.com
zortic.com
zwol.org

Re: Measuring the Webcomic Audience Version 0.3

Xaviar Xerexes's picture

For what it's worth I see Keenspot has 4 comics on the list and 1 former comic on the list. DayFree Press has one comic. I think the rest are fairly described as independents.

I run this place! Tip the piano player on the way out.

Re: Measuring the Webcomic Audience Version 0.3

I'm pretty dang certain it would.

Re: Measuring the Webcomic Audience Version 0.3

www.squidi.net gets a lot of hits also.

Re: Measuring the Webcomic Audience Version 0.3

Put Something Positive on your list - it's got a lot of readers, I believe, and would probably pop up there somewhere - http://www.somethingpositive.net

Re: Measuring the Webcomic Audience Version 0.3

I'd happily note that the All New Adventures of the Slug is currently burning up the servers with a total of 10 readers. Makes me happy I waited eight months for Keenspace.

Re: Measuring the Webcomic Audience Version 0.3

You're right - that's a big goof up not to include.

Re: Measuring the Webcomic Audience Version 0.3

how about www.stripteasecomic.com
it's been around for a while and has a pretty descent fan base I think