Derek Kirk Kim Wins a Harvey

The Harvey awards were handed out at this weekend’s MoCCA Art Festival in New York. Derek Kirk Kim won Best New Talent for his Same Difference and Other Stories collection. Craig Thompson’s graphic novel, Blankets, garnered him a whopping three Harveys. For a full list of categories and winners, see below.

Best Writer:
Chester Brown, Louis Riel (D&Q)

Best Artist
Craig Thompson, Blankets (Top Shelf)

Best Cartoonist
Craig Thompson, Blankets (Top Shelf)

Special Award for Humor in Comics
Tony Millionaire, Sock Monkey (Dark Horse)

Special Award for Excellence in Presentation
Acme Novelty Datebook, Chris Ware (D&Q)

Best New Series
Plastic Man, Kyle Baker (DC Comics)

Best Continuing or Limited Series
League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Volume II, Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill (America’s Best Comics / Wildstorm / DC Comics)

Best Single Issue or Story
Gotham Central #6-10, Greg Rucka and Michael Lark (DC Comics)

Love & Rockets #9, Gilbert and Jaime Hernandez (Fantagraphics)

Best Graphic Album of Original Work
Blankets, Craig Thompson (Top Shelf)

Best Graphic Album of Previously Published Work
Louis Riel, Chester Brown (D&Q)

Best Anthology
Drawn & Quarterly #5, edited by Chris Oliveros (D&Q)

Best Inker
Charles Burns, Black Hole (Fantagraphics)

Best Letterer
Dave Sim, Cerebus(Aardvark-Vanaheim)

Best Colorist
Chris Ware, Acme Novelty Datebook (D&Q)

Best Syndicated Strip or Panel
Maakies by Tony Millionaire

Best Biographical, Historical Or Journalistic Presentation
Comic Art Magazine (Comic Art)

Best American Edition of Foreign Material
Persepolis, Marjane Satrapi (Pantheon Books)

Best Domestic Reprint Project
Krazy and Ignatz, George Herrimann
edited by Bill Blackbeard (Fantagraphics)

Best New Talent
Same Difference and Other Stories, Derek Kirk Kim (Alternative Comics)

Best Cover Artist
Charles Burns, Black Hole (Fantagraphics)